York Young Adult Carers Charity Dinner – Sami

Balloon

After months of hard work, weeks of planning, and too many meetings to count, the event finally arrived.

If I was in a fairytale the line “Cinderella you shall go to the ball” seems appropriate. But I’m not in a fairytale as much as it saddens me to admit, it doesn’t, however, discredit the fact that the night was just as wonderful, with a fantastic atmosphere enjoyed by all who attended.

 

It’s fair to say that the night was better than I could’ve hoped for.

I can’t really begin to describe what it was that I first pictured when I began to plan the event. At times, in all honesty, I found it hard to know what direction I was going in: ‘can’t see the wood for the trees’ and all that. It doesn’t seem to matter which direction I went though, as it all worked out, so perhaps there was method in the madness that my conscious mind had become?

The dinner which took place at York Marriott hotel, was attended by 69 people, who were all welcomed by the host of Young Adult Carers. Upon arrival they were greeted with a drinks reception, this provided them with the opportunity to talk to one another as well as place bids on the silent auction that took place.

The dinner consisted of a 3 course meal, speeches from the Young Adult Carers and Young Carers Revolution, as well as live entertainment that had the guests on their feet.

£751 was raised on the night £605 of this was from the auction, which featured fantastic prizes donated by Jack Raine Community Foundation, The Marriott and Middlethorpe Hall. The rest of the money raised came from the raffle that took place on the night, and the kind donations made.

The feedback has been overwhelmingly positive, and I can’t thank everyone enough for attending and supporting a charity that helps so many young adults.

 

 

Leave a Reply

