How to be an Outstanding Manager Day 2 – Sami

SCY_LogoDay two of How to be an Outstanding Manager came around quickly, I don’t know if it’s because I had a lot to think about coming away from the first session, but the two weeks seemed to fly by.

After the success of the first day, I was looking forward to the second session, particularly because I knew we would be looking at how to recruit the staff that are best fit for the jobs available. Recruitment and the interview process has always been intriguing to me, more so since I realised that I wanted to set up my own company. I’ve always wondered how I could make sure that I would get the right person for the job.

It turns out that my questions were answered in the concluding training day.

Before touching on staffing, we looked at a companies identity and their core values, I knew what Shona (The coach) was talking about when she mentioned them, as working with Inspired Youth, you become aware of their philosophy. From the first time I began working with IY I liked the idea of having something that underpinned the work that happened within the company, and this is something that has stuck with me.

Its a funny thing attending training sessions, because at the time you reflect on how what is being saying relates to you. I always come away astounded by how much I know, understand and implement. Perhaps its a subconscious decision I make, but upon reflection it is easy to know which aspects of my practice have been influence by the key players in my life.

The two training days have been greatly beneficial in establishing aspects of my company that otherwise may have been forgotten. I know have an idea of the core values of the company. As well as a unique method of interviewing people to establish whether they are right for the job, not only in terms of their qualifications for the job, both whether or not they will fit in with the culture of the company.

Leave a Reply

